Everything Server bug ?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

one pc open the everything server with user and password, A pc connects and searches normally,but B and C have no results when searching the same file with the same user name,why ?
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

Thank you for the bug report ahlarry123,

if you force a rebuild from Tools -> Options -> Indexes on B and C does Everything find the file?
-There is a monitoring issue I'm aware of where Everything will stop monitoring the Everything Server if it was offline during indexing. (This should be fixed in the next update)

Are any search options enabled in the Search menu? (eg: Match case or regex)
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

B and C only show there local files , and I don't know if they're connected to the server.The next version can give a successful connection prompt ? Do not pop up, can be in the status bar or other easy to see places.
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

I will look into showing connection status in Tools -> Options -> Statistics in a future release.

Does Tools -> Options -> Statistics report the Network Index as Out of Date: Yes?

Could you please send some debug output?
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, under the Debug submenu, check Start Debug Logging.
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Indexes tab on the left.
  • Click Force Rebuild.
    -Everything will rebuild your indexes and attempt to connect to the Everything Server.
    -After indexing completes:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, under the Debug submenu, click Stop Debug Logging.
    The Everything Debug Log will open in Notepad.
  • Please save this file to the Desktop and send to support@voidtools.com
Privacy
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

OK,I'll send it on next Monday.
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

Transfer expires in 7 days
Last edited by void on Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed link
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

Thank you for the debug log ahlarry123,
2021-04-12 11:36:09.580: OS_SOCKET WAIT error 10060
2021-04-12 11:36:09.580: failed to connect 0
The logs show Everything timing out when connecting to the Everything Server.

Error: WSAETIMEDOUT 10060 Connection timed out.
A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or the established connection failed because the connected host has failed to respond.

Please make sure you are using the correct host name.
Are you able to ping this host name from a command prompt?
Please make sure Everything is running as a standard user on PC B + C.
Could you please check the firewall on the Server.
Please make sure the firewall is allowing connections to Everything on port 14630.
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

But A is normal in the same LAN.
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

Are PC B + C using the same network location (eg: Private/Public/Domain) as PC A?
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

Yes,the same network location and the same user name to connect to the everything server. May be one user name only one connect ? I'll try another user name later.
NotNull
Posts: 5383
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by NotNull »

Did you check these?
(slightly modified)
void wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:40 am
  1. Please make sure you are using the correct host name.
  2. Are you able to ping this host name from a command prompt?
  3. Please make sure Everything is running as a standard user on PC B + C.
  4. Could you please check the firewall on the Server.
  5. Please make sure the firewall is allowing connections to Everything on port 14630.
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

NotNull wrote: Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:05 am Did you check these?
(slightly modified)
PC A is ok , then copy the everything directory including INI files to PC B+C , but B+C can't connect to the server.
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

Code: Select all

2021-04-13 11:16:44.833: Indexing \\2021:14630
2021-04-13 11:16:45.220: ignore name attr for internal ntfs folder 000000000000000b
2021-04-13 11:16:45.220: ignore name attr for internal ntfs folder 000000000000000b
2021-04-13 11:16:45.220: ignore name attr for internal ntfs folder 000000000000000b
2021-04-13 11:16:45.220: ignore name attr for internal ntfs folder 000000000000000b
2021-04-13 11:16:45.456: data run array count 0
2021-04-13 11:16:45.456: left over count 0
2021-04-13 11:16:45.456: processed 160768 / 160768 file records
2021-04-13 11:16:45.456: base_fragmented_record_count 304
2021-04-13 11:16:45.456: 2.050083 seconds
PC B use another name connect.
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1254a will now attempt to connect to the Everything Server when you add it under Tools -> Options -> Network Index.
If the connection fails, an error dialog is shown.

Could you please try re-adding your Everything Server from Tools -> Options -> Network Indexes.
Is there any error message shown?

I have also added an online status to Tools -> Debug -> Stats

Is Everything still having trouble reaching your Everything Server?

There are known DNS limitations with computers named with all digits.
You may need to connect with an IPv4 or IPv6 address.
ahlarry123
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by ahlarry123 »

Yes,I changed the computer name to IP address, temporarily search normal, I‘ll continue to observe it.
void
Developer
Posts: 16032
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything Server bug ?

Post by void »

Thank you for testing Everything 1.5.

Everything 1.5.0.1255a also adds (Offline) status to Tools -> Options -> Network Index when the remote Everything Server is detected as offline.
Post Reply