Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

General discussion related to "Everything".
Post Reply
therube
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by therube »

Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

What's the best way to go about that?

Seems 702 will not use an older versions Service, but is an older version able to use 702's Service?

If not the latter, then you would have to run one or the other As Administrator, it would seem.
void
Developer
Posts: 15095
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by void »

The services are incompatible between version 1.3 and 1.4 and only one can be installed at a time.

I'll look into naming them differently so both can run at the same time.
For now, please run one as admin and the other with the service.

-or-

Run the service manually from a command line:

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -svc
-or-

Rename the Everything service in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services
(not recommended)
salazor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by salazor »

I use Everything on the admin account without Everything service, and also can not run two versions simultaneously. When you try to start the second version opens another window version already running.

Win XP SP3
void
Developer
Posts: 15095
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by void »

Please use named instances if you wish to run different versions concurrently.

For example, run the new beta in a 1.4 BETA instance:

Code: Select all

c:\Everything 1.4.0.702b\Everything.exe -instance "1.4 BETA"
therube
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by therube »

(In my case, that's what I had done from the onset:
C:\DEV\Locate\702\Everything.exe -instance 702)

On XP, what's your reason for not using the Service?
void
Developer
Posts: 15095
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by void »

The service name in Everything 1.4.0.705b now includes the instance name so you can install multiple services.

-Thought I had fixed this in 704, turns out I don't use the instance name in the pipe name, so multiple-instances of services still won't work in 704b. Will post an update soon.

-Should now work with 705b.
therube
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by therube »

The service name in Everything 1.4.0.705b now includes the instance name so you can install multiple services.
If you could provide a bit more explanation.

Now is this in order to be able to run 1.3 & 1.4 concurrently?
Or multiple instances of 1.3 & 1.4, so 1.3 & 1.4 & 1.4, or 1.4 & 1.4?

And then how to effect it?

Does the use of -instance automatically create a same named service?
(Don't think so.)

So -instance 705 creates a service "705"?
(I don't think I saw that.)

Or do you need something like:

Everything -install-service-pipe-name 705 -exit
Everything -instance 705

(Seemed to bring up an empty Everything window.)

Or might you need -instance 705 -service-pipe-name 705 ?

Once you've got it working, is it expected to see multiple instances of Everything.exe (service) in Task Manager? And are they uniquely identified (other then by PID)?

Or some other machinations?


Oh, I bet you need -svc-pipe-name?
void
Developer
Posts: 15095
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by void »

Please try running Everything 1.4 with the command line option -instance 705 :

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -instance 705
This will start a new instance of Everything.
In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
Click the General tab.
Check Everything Service.
Click OK.

This will install the Everything service with the service name "Everything (705)".
Now is this in order to be able to run 1.3 & 1.4 concurrently?
Or multiple instances of 1.3 & 1.4, so 1.3 & 1.4 & 1.4, or 1.4 & 1.4?
Any of the above.
And then how to effect it?
Use a unique name for -instance <name> for each version you wish to run concurrently.
Does the use of -instance automatically create a same named service?
(Don't think so.)
It should.
The service name should be: "Everything (<instance name>)".
Where <instance name> is the instance name.
So -instance 705 creates a service "705"?
(I don't think I saw that.)
Should be "Everything (705)".
Or do you need something like:

Everything -install-service-pipe-name 705 -exit
Everything -instance 705

(Seemed to bring up an empty Everything window.)

Or might you need -instance 705 -service-pipe-name 705 ?
The -install-service-pipe-name 705 will do nothing on its own, it needs to be used with -install-service.
However, I don't recommend doing this from the command line. Install the service from within Everything (Tools -> Options -> General -> Everything Service)
The pipe name will also include the instance name.

Strange the empty window showed, I would have expected the Access denied dialog, asking if you would like to run as admin / install the service / do not index ntfs volumes.
Once you've got it working, is it expected to see multiple instances of Everything.exe (service) in Task Manager? And are they uniquely identified (other then by PID)?
Or some other machinations?
Yes, There will be multiple services running. There will be a Everything.exe process for each service and instance.
Oh, I bet you need -svc-pipe-name?
Thats for the -svc command line option, I do not recommend using this.
void
Developer
Posts: 15095
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Running 702 & Older Version Concurrently

Post by void »

Everything 1.4.0.709b will now detect an old service and ask to replace it with the new one.

If you choose to replace the old service, older versions of Everything will no longer work.
If you wish to use older versions concurrently with the new Everything 1.4 beta, please use named instances.

With named instances, multiple Everything services can be installed.
Post Reply