1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
therube
Posts: 4605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by therube »

1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100


did my Name column width, increase, considerably ?
or did i inadvertently drag it wider ?

ah, sure enough

1st window, 1st tab & 2nd tab are correctly sized
opening 2nd window & Name column is significantly wider ?

thinking it will have to do with zoom=134 ?

likewise thinking that *_column_width=588,
aside from changing on its own
is also affected by zoom=*, in that 1364
is scaling (zooming) "588" x 1.34 in it's actual /display/ of the column width
or something like that ;-)

1 can interactively substitute Everything versions < 1364 & 1364
& open & see 1 width, close, & open with the other, & see another column width

in .ini,
/some/ *_column_width= change by zoom=
so # x 1.34 (in my case)
255 x 1.34 = 341.7 = 342 (Name), 111 x 1.34 = 148.74 = (Date Modified)

but...

presumably there is actually somne other setting that is the cause ?
no, thinking it is simply 1364 (rather then some other setting [other then zoom=])

looks like zoom= (at anything other then zoom=100)
is being applied to *_width= for /every/ new window opened

some of the changes, are off by one (I've mentioned offbyone before), even when only using only 1364 & doing nothing more then opening, closing, opening again & quitting (& in doing so, some widths are offbyone)
.
Everything 1364 - column widths changed.png
Everything 1364 - column widths changed.png (38.8 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
.
Note width of Name column between top & 2nd window.
Everything 1364 - init open, new window (& Name width change).png
Everything 1364 - init open, new window (& Name width change).png (77.82 KiB) Viewed 1530 times
.
Everything - 1364 close Win1, then Win 2.png
Everything - 1364 close Win1, then Win 2.png (45.55 KiB) Viewed 1530 times
.
Here, all columns are resized, interactively closing 1 version of Everything & opening a different (& back again) [& otherwise, no changes except for the .exe itself].
Everything - 1359 vs 1364 column widths - only change is exe.png
Everything - 1359 vs 1364 column widths - only change is exe.png (159.73 KiB) Viewed 1530 times
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

All width and height settings in Everything 1364 are now in logical pixels.
(logical = scalable)



Have you also set a UI scale under Tools -> Options -> UI?



Do you change the zoom level often?
Are you after an option to prevent the column widths changing on zoom?
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

2void

I also noticed in Everything that after an upgrade from 1.5.0.1363a (x64) to 1.5.0.1364a (x64) there were small column shifts.
After an upgrade from 1.5.0.1364a (x64) to 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - there were major column shifts (EV main- und subinstances).

I have now tested as follows.
  1. Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) closed (Exit ALT+F4)
  2. Started Everything 1.5.0.1363a (x64)
  3. Result: The columns have been moved significantly (please see the picture below).
     
  4. Everything 1.5.0.1363a (x64) closed (Exit ALT+F4)
  5. Started Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64)
  6. Result: In this case there was NO column shift!
    The column view in 1.5.0.1365a is exactly available again after the change from 1.5.0.1363a to 1.5.0.1365a!
     
  7. It will therefore be interesting for me to see what the column view will look like in the next version.
 
2024-01-06_Column shifts after upgrade to Everything 1.5.0.1364a.png
2024-01-06_Column shifts after upgrade to Everything 1.5.0.1364a.png (63.07 KiB) Viewed 1492 times
 
Proposal:
I would therefore suggest an option "View" > "Save Position":
- You could then manually change and save a column view,
  so that it is available again when restarting or calling Everything from the systray.
- If you change a column view manually and then do not save it,
  then the last saved column view should be available again after a restart or calling Everything from the systray.

Note:
The scroll bar (on/off) can lead to a slightly different column view for search queries.
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

Thank you for your feedback tuska,

Alt + F4 does not exit Everything.
Please try File -> Exit.

Does Everything remember your column widths after exiting and restarting? (same version)



There should only be a change to your column widths between versions <=1363a and >=1364a
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

2void
I'm sorry, I have unfortunately provided some incorrect descriptions. :oops:
Let me explain...
void wrote: Sat Jan 06, 2024 11:43 pm Alt + F4 does not exit Everything.
Please try File -> Exit.
I used the F10 key to close Everything: ... Everything Options ...
 Keyboard > File | Exit > F10 (Global)
;Keyboard > File | Exit > ALT+F4 (Global)
(I stopped and restarted the Everything Service separately).
void wrote: Sat Jan 06, 2024 11:43 pm Does Everything remember your column widths after exiting and restarting? (same version)
Yes.
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64)
Please also see the next point.
void wrote: Sat Jan 06, 2024 11:43 pm There should only be a change to your column widths between versions <=1363a and >=1364a
I had mistakenly assumed that there was a SMALL column shift during this change,
which I could see on the right-hand side of the screen.
The reason was as follows:
For search queries that only required one screen page as a search result, there was NO scroll bar
and part of the next column heading was displayed, which I would otherwise NOT see.
In the meantime, I was able to solve this by WIDENING THE LAST VISIBLE COLUMN at the right edge of the window.

So it should have read correctly (related to my tests):
After an upgrade from 1.5.0.1363a (x64) to 1.5.0.1364a (x64) - there were major column shifts (Everything main instance).
After an upgrade from 1.5.0.1363a (x64) to 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - there were major column shifts (Everything main- & subinstances).

After correcting my main column view once, I think I'm done with the "column shift" issue.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Regarding "1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100" I have done tests in 1.5.0.1365a (x64) with various zoom factors
in Everything
(105%, 110%, 115% - multiple restarts in between). The tests were consistently successful (several restarts performed).

During the final reset to 100% there was a minimal column shift, i.e. at the right edge of the window I was shown
part of a column was displayed on the right-hand side of the window, which I would otherwise only see if I moved the horizontal scroll bar.

A further test with 100%,120%,120%,100% (multiple restarts in between) was successful again.
For me, the Everything zoom factor issue seems to be OK in 1.5.0.1365a (x64).
therube
Posts: 4605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by therube »

Have you also set a UI scale under Tools -> Options -> UI?
On current machine, scale is set to 115% (scale=1.15).

Did I knowingly set it?
I don't think so. (And it seems to have been that way for some time now.)
Can't say I even noticed the UI before (even though it has been around for quite some time now).

Don't know that I even manually set it, though there were discussions where it was mentioned.

I know I have specifically set zoom=.


(I'll have to see what my other computer shows.)
therube
Posts: 4605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by therube »

That said, take 1365, completely new Profile (so no preexisting .ini, & so it will be, scale=1).
Open it, then open a few new windows, you will see that in each new window, column widths "grow".

At least it is doing it on my end (Win7).
Resolution is set to 1600x900 (where native resolution appears to be 1920x1080).
[Windows] "scale" (or whatever it might be called) is set to 100% (as opposed to Medium - 125% or Large - 150%).


On my end, (depending...), I have always only ever changed Resolution & have always left [Windows] "scale" at 100%.
(Always seemed to make more sense that way - so long as the ratio between native & set resolution is the same, which is 1.778 for both 1600/900 & 1920/1080.)
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

therube wrote: Mon Jan 08, 2024 3:59 pm That said, take 1365, completely new Profile (so no preexisting .ini, & so it will be, scale=1).
Open it, then open a few new windows, you will see that in each new window, column widths "grow".
Menu "File" > New Search Window - CTRL+N

I can confirm this behaviour, but only for Everything sub-instances, such as
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - (DRIVE-C)  ; C:\Everything\Everything_DRIVE-C\Everything64.exe -instance "DRIVE-C" -startup
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - (Instant)
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - (Instant) - [Administrator]
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - (PRIVAT)
Everything 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - (PRIVATE)
(Unfortunately I have never carried out a test like this before <CTRL+N>).

This behaviour does NOT occur with the Everything main instance.

____________________________________________________
Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.2861)
'Everything' 1.5.0.1365a (x64) - "Portable on system drive C:"
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

Thank you for persisting with me tuska and therube.

Everything 1.5.0.1366a will now inherit the correct column widths in a new window.



Please let me know if you see any strange/unexpected column widths with this version.
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

2void

Thank you for the fix in Everything 1.5.0.1366a
regarding Menu "File" > New Search Window - CTRL+N in Everything Subinstances! :)

After more thorough tests regarding the zoom factor in Everything, I would like to point out the following:

Test scenario
  1. Everything Main-instance
  2. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) | Sub-instance
  3. Menu "File" > New Search Window - CTRL+N
  4. Menu "File" > New Tab - CTRL+T
  5. Multiple restarts in between (/restart)
  6. Everything window: Maximised
  7. Only the columns in the visible area were checked,
    i.e. the vertical scroll bar was NOT moved to check the columns and column widths outside the visible area
  8. Zoom factors in Everything: 105%; 115%; 100% (Everything.ini: scale=1)
    Everything Options - 1.5.0.1366a (x64) > UI > Scale: ...%
    ---
  9. Monitor 24'', Scaling size 125%, resolution 1920 x 1280 pixel (native screen resolution)
  10. Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.2861)
  11. 'Everything' 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - "Portable on system drive C:"
Results
  1. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - Main-instance - UI-Scale: 115% - multiple restarts in between (/restart)
    Only after 14 restarts in a row was a difference of 0.5 cm visible at the right edge of the window.
    The difference resulted from the fact that the "Path" column was slightly reduced with each restart.
    Image: 2024-01-09_1.5.0.1366a (x64) - Main-instance - UI-Scale 115% - multiple restarts in between.png
     
  2. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - Main-instance - UI-Scale: 100% - multiple restarts in between (/restart)
    After 14 restarts in a row there was NO difference at the right edge of the window.
     
  3. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) | Sub-instance | Zoom factor 105%
    After just a few restarts, it became apparent that the 105% zoom factor was causing column shifts.
    The differences resulted from the fact that with each restart, both the "Path" column and the "Name" column
    (the latter column only slightly) were reduced in size.
    Image (below): 2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - multiple restarts.png
    - Point 1: This is the view after changing the zoom factor to 105% with automatic restart
    - Points 2.-4.: These are restarts. After each restart, the view should be as in point 1.
     
  4. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) | Sub-instance | Zoom factor change from 115% to 100%
    Here I got the same result (column shifts) as described in the previous point.
    2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale--- 100% and switch from 115% to 100% (at the very bottom).png
     
  5. Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - Sub-instance - UI-Scale: 100% - multiple restarts in between (/restart)
    After 14 restarts in a row there was NO difference at the right edge of the window.
     
  6. Images - I send all pictures by email to you - address "Support...".
    1. 2024-01-09_1.5.0.1366a (x64) - Main-instance - UI-Scale 115% - multiple restarts in between.png
    2. 2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 100% - multiple restarts.png
    3. 2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale--- 100% and switch from 115% to 100% (at the very bottom).png
    4. 2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - multiple restarts.png
    5. 2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 115% - multiple restarts.png
 
2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - multiple restarts.png
2024-01-09_Everything 1.5.0.1366a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - multiple restarts.png (53.56 KiB) Viewed 1293 times
therube
Posts: 4605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by therube »

(I'll have to see what my other computer shows.)
Win7.
Resolution is set to (& native is also) 1920x1280.
[Windows] "scale" (or whatever it might be called) is set to 100% (as opposed to Medium - 125% or Large - 150%).

(zoom= is most likely set, but I forgot to check that.)
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

Thank you for the issue report tuska,



Everything-1.5.0.1366a-mod1 fixes an issue with the column width shrinking.

Everything-1.5.0.1366a.x64-Setup-mod1.exe
Everything-1.5.0.1366a.x86-Setup-mod1.exe
Everything-1.5.0.1366a.x64-mod1.zip
Everything-1.5.0.1366a.x86-mod1.zip

Please feel free to try this fix.
I need to do more testing my end before an official update.
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

2void

Thanks! :)
I will test and report back.
tuska
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by tuska »

2void

I have tested as follows:
Test scenario - 1.5.0.1367a = 1.5.0.1366a.x64-mod1 (x64) portable - 11.1.2024
  1. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - 11.1.2024 - (Main instance)
  2. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - 11.1.2024 - (Instant) | Sub-instance
  3. Menu "File" > New Search Window - CTRL+N
  4. Menu "File" > New Tab - CTRL+T
  5. Multiple restarts in between (/restart)
  6. Everything window: Maximised
  7. This time, all column widths were checked for changes in width, including those outside the monitor's field of view.
    Move of horizontal scrollbar was required to display them.
  8. Zoom factors in Everything: 105%; 115%; 100% (Everything.ini: scale=1)
    Everything Options - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - 11.1.2024 > UI > Scale: ...%
    ---
  9. Monitor 24'', Scaling size 125%, resolution 1920 x 1280 pixel (native screen resolution),
    Visible screen surface (excluding frame): Height = 32.5 cm, Width = 51.9 cm.
  10. FastStone Capture 10.4 - Ruler - Options > Calibrate Ruler (Pixels Per Inch) >
    PPI (Pixels Per Inch): 93.9 (default: 120.0), Screen Size (Diagonal Length): 24.1
    1 cm, measured with the FastStone Capture ruler on the screen, corresponds to 1 cm,
    measured with a paper or plastic ruler on the screen).
    The image dimensions in the screenshots (.png) correspond to the view on the screen
    with the values specified above (24'', 125%).
    ---
  11. Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.2861)
  12. 'Everything' 1.5.0.1367a = 1.5.0.1366a.x64-mod1 (x64) - 11.1.2024 - portable

Results (Images sent to "Support..." on 11.1.2024)
All tests were successful! This means that there were no changes to the column widths!
  1. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Main instance) | UI-Scale: 100% - 10 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 100% - .Visible columns.png
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 100% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  2. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Main instance) | UI-Scale: 115% - 10 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 2024-01-11_184051_1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 115% - .Visible columns.png
    - 2024-01-11_184419_1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 115% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  3. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Main instance) | UI-Scale: 100% - Change from 115% to 100% - 2 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 100% - .Visible columns.png
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - Main instance - UI-Scale 100% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  4. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) | UI-Scale: 100% - 10 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 100% - .Visible columns.png
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 100% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  5. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) | UI-Scale: 105% - 10 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - .Visible columns.png
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 105% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  6. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) | UI-Scale: 115% - 10 restarts in between (/restart)
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 115% - .Visible columns.png
    - 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) - UI-Scale 115% - Columns outside the field of vision.png
  7. Everything 1.5.0.1367a (x64) - (Instant) | UI-Scale: 100% - Change from 115% to 100%
    After I manually changed the column widths for test case no. 6 - UI-Scale: 115%,
    (understandably from my point of view) when resetting to UI-Scale: 100% (for the same test case no. 6)
    the same view of column widths could no longer be created as was originally the case with test case no. 4.
    -----
    However, to be on the safe side, I did another quick test, from 100% to 115% and then to 100%.
    The test result was fine! (I have not made any hard copies of this test).
Thank you very much for the prompt fix! :)
In this test scenario, I could no longer detect any errors with regard to column widths!
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

Thank you for your testing 1366a-mod1 tuska,

I'm glad this fix helped with the column scaling issue.
I'll have an alpha update soon.
therube
Posts: 4605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by therube »

(Yes, 1366a-mod1 is better then 1366.)
void
Developer
Posts: 15283
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1364: zoom bug, if zoom= <> 100

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1367a makes a lot of changes to scaling.

If you find any issues please let me know.

Dialogs should now scale up correctly (was off by one pixel)
Dialogs should now have the correct minimum and maximum size when scaling. (was off by one pixel)
Ctrl + sizing should now correctly undershoot column widths so no scrollbar is shown.
Autosizing a column should now use the correct width.
Clicking on the header divider should no longer resize a column until you move the mouse.
Post Reply