Page 1 of 1

Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:31 pm
by etc
v1.4.0.713b
v1.4.0.716b
Win 7 (x86)

Enable [Full row select];
Click anywhere in row A; Now row A is selected;
(Shift-)Ctrl-click in the BLANK of row X;
Unexpectedly, row X is not selected.

And please read the 5th post.

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:07 pm
by V@no
What's interesting is this only happens on parts of a row with no text under cursor and it not just ignores user click, but it deselects the row if it was selected.

E 1.4.0.713b(x64)
Windows 10

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:10 pm
by horst.epp
No problem here with Version 1.4.0.716b (x64)
Shift-Ctrl-click is a useless combination.
Ctrl-Clicks are selection additional single lines and Shift-Click selects the correct range for me, including line x.
So for what purpose should I use Shift-Ctrl-click together ?

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:42 am
by V@no
horst.epp wrote:No problem here with Version 1.4.0.716b (x64)
Shift-Ctrl-click is a useless combination.
Ctrl-Clicks are selection additional single lines and Shift-Click selects the correct range for me, including line x.
So for what purpose should I use Shift-Ctrl-click together ?
Based on the fact that you are missing the difference between (Shift-)Ctrl-click and Shift-Ctrl-click (although the correct way should've been Shift/Ctrl+click), that suggests that you might have missed the keyword BLANK as well (which I did initially myself too).
Here is what it means:
everything_full_line_click.png
A̶n̶d̶ ̶f̶i̶n̶a̶l̶l̶y̶,̶ ̶w̶h̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶d̶i̶d̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶ ̶g̶e̶t̶ ̶1̶.̶4̶.̶0̶.̶7̶1̶6̶b̶ ̶f̶r̶o̶m̶?̶ (found it)

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:46 pm
by etc
V@no wrote:
horst.epp wrote:So for what purpose should I use Shift-Ctrl-click together ?
Based on the fact that you are missing the difference between (Shift-)Ctrl-click and Shift-Ctrl-click (although the correct way should've been Shift/Ctrl+click), ...
Sorry for the briefness.
(Shift-)Ctrl-click means Ctrl-click or Shift-Ctrl-click.
Here's an explanation for Shift-Ctrl-click:
http://www.scootersoftware.com/vbulleti ... select-bug

Append another issue:
Please read the explanation above first. And you will find, in Everything, Shift-Ctrl-clicking on the selected items can not deselect them.
I hope such operations in Everything would behave the same as in Windows Explorer.

Append another example for the first post:
Ctrl-dragging from the blank won't make the first item selected.
Everything_Ctrl+Drag.gif

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:23 am
by void
Thanks for the bug report, added to my list of things to fix.

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 5:19 am
by Scoox
Just downloaded Everything v1.4.1.867b 64-bit (portable), the option to select whole rows is gone. I also notice a bunch of options missing in the Fonts and Colors sections, and Copy Name context menu entry is also gone, is this intentional?

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 7:16 am
by Stamimail
Scoox wrote:Just downloaded Everything v1.4.1.867b 64-bit (portable), the option to select whole rows is gone. I also notice a bunch of options missing in the Fonts and Colors sections, and Copy Name context menu entry is also gone, is this intentional?
Comparing
Everything-1.4.0.713b.x64
to
Everything-1.4.1.870b.x64

All you said is in its place, except one option in Options > UI that removed:
[ ] Snap to desktop edges at ___ pixels

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 4:24 am
by Scoox
Yay! I just downloaded the latest build and the option is back. Happy days!

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:37 am
by choin
Stamimail wrote:All you said is in its place, except one option in Options > UI that removed:
[ ] Snap to desktop edges at ___ pixels
Can't see this option in latest 1.4.1.895. And if I write this into .ini:

Code: Select all

snap=1
snaplen=10
it still doesn't work. Is there anything wrong with it and was it removed completely?

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:21 am
by void
It was removed from the UI, the function does still exist as an ini option:

To enable snap to desktop edges:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /snap=1

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:13 am
by choin
void wrote:It was removed from the UI, the function does still exist as an ini option:

To enable snap to desktop edges:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /snap=1
I'm not sure it works, although I can see this can change the snap parameter in .ini.

Perhaps it just doesn't work in my environment? I'm currently trying to use it in Windows Server 2016 through RDP session.

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:22 am
by void
Are you referring to snap to desktop edges or full row select?

To enable full row select:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the UI tab on the left.
  • Check Full row select.
  • Click OK.

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:17 pm
by choin
void wrote:Are you referring to snap to desktop edges or full row select?

To enable full row select:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the UI tab on the left.
  • Check Full row select.
  • Click OK.
Desktop edges. I can't get it to work still. Was it removed from GUI because it's problematic like in my case?

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:12 am
by void
Only thing I can think of is snap is enabled, but Everything thinks the shift key is down which toggles the effect.

What is the current value for your snap setting:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /snap
  • What is displayed in the status bar?
Does holding down shift while moving the Everything window allow it to snap to desktop edges?

Are you using multiple monitors? -maybe Everything is getting confused as to what is a desktop edge..

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:55 am
by choin
void wrote:Only thing I can think of is snap is enabled, but Everything thinks the shift key is down which toggles the effect.

What is the current value for your snap setting:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /snap
  • What is displayed in the status bar?
Does holding down shift while moving the Everything window allow it to snap to desktop edges?

Are you using multiple monitors? -maybe Everything is getting confused as to what is a desktop edge..
snap=1 is displayed in the status bar.

Holding Shift does not do anything.

Also, all visual effects in Windows are disabled, possibly due to RDP settings. I only see the rectangle when I'm moving any window.

Re: Full row select: Ctrl-click in blank of row

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:57 am
by void
Fixed for the next version of Everything.

Currently, Everything will only snap to desktop edges when Show windows contents while dragging is enabled.