bookmark drop down menu

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Fri Nov 04, 2016 4:58 pm

I'm accumulating a lot of bookmarks...Is it possible to either make the drop down menu mouse wheel scrollable or even better, widen the list so that scrolling down isn't necessary and all the bookmarks are visible at once?

Thanks

Brill programme btw!!

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4769
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by void » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:44 am

Windows blocks mouse wheel events when a menu is displayed. I would have to implement my own menus to do this.

You might be interested in "menu folders".

harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:11 am

Thanks...any plans to try and implement a column view? Also, would it be possible to have a jump to top/bottom option on the bookmarks menu?

harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:21 am

Forgot to add...Is there an option in the ini file to stop the bookmark menu remembering it's last position so that each time I access the menu it starts at the top?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4769
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by void » Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:11 pm

I've added an ini option to show menu items in columns to Everything 792b:
http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.4.1.792b.x86.zip
http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.4.1.792b.x64.zip

To enable this option:
  • Completely exit Everything (right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit).
  • Open your %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini.
  • Change the following line:
    menu_items_per_column=0
    to:
    menu_items_per_column=50
  • where 50 is the number of items per column. 0 = disable.
  • Save changes and restart Everything.
Forgot to add...Is there an option in the ini file to stop the bookmark menu remembering it's last position so that each time I access the menu it starts at the top?
I would have to implement my own menus.

harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:27 pm

Thanks soooo much, absolutely brill!!

w64bit
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:06 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by w64bit » Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:51 pm

When using this option UI for Bookmark menu list is looking old:
- no space (column) on the left of the items
- solid selection
- narrow lines

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4769
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by void » Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:01 am

no space (column) on the left of the items
I don't see this here, I've tested on Windows XP, 7 and 10 and they all show a indentation space on the left of all columns.
Could you please send a screenshot? What version of Windows are you using?
solid selection
narrow lines
This is odd, looks like the menus are displayed with the old theme-less style. It appears to be only a visual issue, nothing I can do about it without writing my own menus.

harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 1:38 pm

Is there any way to have a 3rd column for the dropdown bookmarks menu? I'm running out of room...

Also, I would like to create sub folders in the bo0okmarks menu but a lot of my bookmarks have a slash in them and it's creating unwanted sub folders.

Thanks..

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4769
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by void » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:50 am

I've added the ini option: menu_folder_separator to customize the folder separator character.
Please try changing the folder separator character to: /
  • In Everything 809b or later, type in the following search and press Enter:
    /menu_folder_separator=/
  • use a / in your filters and bookmarks name to put them in folders.
Sorry it's not the best solution, hopefully it will do for now..

harryray2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by harryray2 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:36 am

Thank you...I'll give it a try. Not madly keen on sub menus but it's a solution...

Would a 3rd column be impractical?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4769
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: bookmark drop down menu

Post by void » Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:41 am

Adjust the menu_items_per_column for a 3rd column:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /menu_items_per_column=30
You may have to increase or decrease 30 to your liking.

Post Reply