Page 1 of 1

Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 4:13 am
by wddt
I'm a newbie to Everything and I'm using it because my trusty old Google Desktop finally died. To invoke the search box in Google Desktop, you hit the Ctl key twice. I have Everything setup to "run when windows starts" and "run in the background", but I can't figure out how to summon it, like Desktop, from a hotkey combination. (I have read the postings about hotkeys and I don't see any that address this question -- at least in terms I can understand.) I don't expect to bring up an Everything search window by hitting the Ctl key twice -- although that would be wonderful -- but I'd like to bring it up from the keyboard. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:26 pm
by keithg1964
Right click options, goto keyboard for that ability.

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:44 pm
by wddt
everything-options.jpg
everything-options.jpg (35.27 KiB) Viewed 2249 times
Thank you for taking the time to answer, but I'm afraid I don't understand. This is what I get when I right-click Options -- there doesn't seem to be "keyboard" as a choice.

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:02 pm
by keithg1964
Must be a new feature in the betas. I am running 1.3.3.658

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:04 pm
by wddt
(As my wife always says, "it's not a bug, it's a feature")

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:54 pm
by wddt
Back again with the same question, unfortunately. I've been using a Windows shortcut but I just used Google Desktop on a friend's (XP) machine and was reminded just how much easier Desktop's "Ctl..Ctl" was. I admit I couldn't figure out how to assign the Control-Control sequence in the first place, let alone get it to bring Everything to the top of my screen. Any MORE suggestions would be appreciated.

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:56 am
by therube
Tools | Options -> Show window Hotkey: ____________
-> give it a value, like Ctrl+F12 or whatever works for you & Apply
(looks like Ctrl..Ctrl won't work)

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:00 am
by void
You would need a third party app (for example Autohotkey) for Ctrl + Ctrl.

Everything uses Hotkeys which are quite limited.
Existing hotkeys can not be replaced and must be a modifier + virtual key combination.

Re: Newbie hotkeys question

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:56 pm
by wddt
Thanks for the recommendation -- I've downloaded autohotkey and it looks like an amazing tool. I'll post again if I come up with a script that will let me use two "controls" bring up my search window.