Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
cata_solo
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2022 4:38 pm

Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by cata_solo »

This is Everything 1.5.0.1330a.

Just type content: in the search area and see what is happening. Everything will start searching "something" inside all indexed objects. I was not able to end this process even I pressed Cancel, I tried to delete the filter.

This is not a correct behavior in my opinion. If "Search as you type" option is checked for content: filter only I would suggest to disable "Search as you type" feature and use the Enter key. Other solution would be not starting the search if there is no minimum string length filled in. This can be configured as an option buy default it could be 3 characters.
horst.epp
Posts: 1306
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by horst.epp »

I find the current behaviour convenient
and have no delays while using it.
Not in Everything itself and also not using the Everything Toolbar.
So please let it as it is.
Of course you should setup content indexing.
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 22H2 (OS Build 22621.819)
Everything 1.5.0.1330a (x64)
cata_solo
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2022 4:38 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by cata_solo »

What happens if someone doesn't want to make the content indexing? Indexing content will create a huge database in some cases, will consume resources to process it and many more.

What I reported is a real issue. Only if there is a content index created the "Search as you type" option should be available for this filter. It is not normal to start searching immediately after typing the colon. In my case there are 2 million objects in the result list. Also I was not able to stop the process once it started.

Shall we let it as it is?
raccoon
Posts: 1010
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by raccoon »

I tend to agree with your observation that Everything should consolidate "Search as you type" to predictably fast results, and forego predictably slow results. I don't know what those metrics should look like, but I commented previously [1] [2] on this point that complex searches can become mightily CPU hungry before you have finished typing/editing the query.

This is particularly important since "Search as you type" is default on.
horst.epp
Posts: 1306
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by horst.epp »

cata_solo wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 8:38 pm What happens if someone doesn't want to make the content indexing? Indexing content will create a huge database in some cases, will consume resources to process it and many more.

What I reported is a real issue. Only if there is a content index created the "Search as you type" option should be available for this filter. It is not normal to start searching immediately after typing the colon. In my case there are 2 million objects in the result list. Also I was not able to stop the process once it started.

Shall we let it as it is?
But you can control what file types, pathes and sizes are indexed.
I do that for a limited amount of Data and use the Windows index for larger amount.
This way I never get any long delays for search as you type using content:
cata_solo
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2022 4:38 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by cata_solo »

Of course there are solutions to reduce the collected data. In my case there are 2 million objects just documents (Acrobat, Microsoft Office).
void
Developer
Posts: 14864
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by void »

If you sort by size and search for content:text Everything will do as it is told and search your 128GB+ pagefile.sys for text.

I understand this is not ideal and can cause issues with iFilters and large files.

Before using content: please limit your search as much as possible.
For example:
"c:\my docs\" ext:doc;docx;pdf dm:thisyear content:"my content"



I will consider a search delay option when using content:
I will consider an option to disable search as your type when using content:

I will consider an option to show a modal dialog after typing in content: to enter your content search.

Thank you for the suggestions.



For now, (as you probably already know) there's an option to toggle search as type under Tools -> Options -> Search.
You can also set a search delay for all searches under Tools -> Options -> Search. (Everything 1.5+)

Please consider searching for:
content"my content"

Once the full search text is typed, add the colon (:):
content:"my content"

Please consider using the advanced search to perform your content search:
In the Search box, press F2. (Everything 1.5+)
Set "A word of phrase in the file".

Please consider the sleep: search function.

sleep:1000 content:"foo bar"

Please consider making a filter macro:
In Everything, from the Search menu, click Add to filters....
Change the Name to: Sleep Content
Change the Search to: sleep:1000 content:search:
Change the macro to: sc<search>
Click OK.

Now you can use sc:"foo bar" which will expand to sleep:1000 content:"foo bar"
void
Developer
Posts: 14864
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by void »

The current design for content: is to start pre-caching your content ASAP:
User types in content:
Everything starts searching for all content immediately.
---
User types in content:a
Everything cancels the current content search.
Everything starts searching for content containing "a" immediately.
Most of the previously read content will still be in RAM.
---
User types in content:ab
Everything cancels the current content search.
Everything starts searching for content containing "ab" immediately.
Most of the previously read content will still be in RAM.
---
User types in the final search: content:abc
Everything cancels the current content search.
Everything starts searching for content containing "abc" immediately.
Most of the previously read content will still be in RAM.



Everything can be really aggressive with reading content stored on an SSD.
Everything will use multiple threads and try to max out your SSD read speeds.
Maybe this needs fine tuning..

Please try reducing your content_max_threads to 1 or 2 or 4 or 8:
Copy and paste the following into your Everything search box:
/content_max_threads=1
Press ENTER in your Everything search box.
If successful, content_max_threads =1 is shown in the status bar for a few seconds.
Perform your content: search.
Does this help with the responsiveness?

content_max_threads

HDDs will only use a single thread.
cata_solo
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2022 4:38 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by cata_solo »

@void - Thank you. I will follow your advices.
void
Developer
Posts: 14864
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Disable "Search as you type" for content filter

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1332a adds an experimental allow_open_quote ini setting.

When disabled, Everything will only search perform a search when there is a opening and closing quote (")

For example, if I type in:

content:"abc

no content search is performed until I add the closing quote (")

For example:

content:"abc123"



Empty searches are also treated as open quotes.

For example, the following will match all files and folders without performing a content search:

content:

where as with allow_open_quote enabled, content: will find files that have some content (not empty)



If you don't use double quotes, the search performs the same as previously.
That is, your content search is executed immediately.

For example:
content:abc
will immediately start searching for files containing abc.



To disable allow_open_quote:
  • Copy and paste the following into your Everything search box:
    /allow_open_quote=0
  • Press ENTER in your Everything search box.
  • If successful, allow_open_quote=0 is shown in the status bar for a few seconds.
Please let me know if this is useful.
Post Reply