Database on Ramdisk

General discussion related to "Everything".
Post Reply
ivail
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:28 pm

Database on Ramdisk

Post by ivail » Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:30 pm

Hello,

Is there a way that I can set the database location on a ramdisk?
I have tried it, but it still stays on the default folder and nothing is created on the appointed folder in the settings of the program.

Thank You for the great program!

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5073
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Database on Ramdisk

Post by void » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:13 am

Set the database location in Tools -> Options -> Indexes -> Database location.

Everything will save its database to disk when you exit Everything.

The Everything.db file is not essential and can be deleted.
Everything will recreate this file if it is missing.

You can delete your Everything.db in the other locations.



Other notes:
You can use the command line option -no-db to disable saving the database to disk.
Everything will recreate the database in memory every time you run Everything.

ivail
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:28 pm

Re: Database on Ramdisk

Post by ivail » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:24 am

Thank you for the prompt respond!

Post Reply