1.5a SDK files

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
richiek
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:07 am

1.5a SDK files

Post by richiek »

Hey hey,
I have a bunch of python scripts that made use of the Everything SDK to do file-related searches/filtering but none of them appear to be working with 1.5a. I'm assuming a separate SDK dll will be released for 1.5 - is there an intention to publish these along side your alpha releases?

Many thanks,
Richard.
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by void »

Thank you for the SDK request, Richard.

The Everything 1.5 SDK is still in development.

The Everything 1.4 SDK does not support multiple instances and Everything 1.5a runs in a 1.5a instance.

If you would like to use the Everything 1.4 SDK now, please try the latest Everything 1.5 alpha.

Everything 1.5.0.1245a adds support for the alpha_instance ini option.

To disable the Everything 1.5a instance:
  • Please make sure Everything 1.4 is not running.
  • Please make sure Everything 1.5a is not running.
  • Please open the Everything-1.5.ini in the same location as your Everything64.exe
  • Add the following line to the end of your Everything-1.5.ini:
    alpha_instance=0
  • Save changes and restart Everything 1.5a.
You can now use the Everything 1.4 SDK with Everything 1.5.
horst.epp
Posts: 1332
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by horst.epp »

void wrote: Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:20 pm Thank you for the SDK request, Richard.

The Everything 1.5 SDK is still in development.

The Everything 1.4 SDK does not support multiple instances and Everything 1.5a runs in a 1.5a instance.

If you would like to use the Everything 1.4 SDK now, please try the latest Everything 1.5 alpha.

Everything 1.5.0.1245a adds support for the alpha_instance ini option.

To disable the Everything 1.5a instance:
  • Please make sure Everything 1.4 is not running.
  • Please make sure Everything 1.5a is not running.
  • Please open the Everything-1.5.ini in the same location as your Everything64.exe
  • Add the following line to the end of your Everything-1.5.ini:
    alpha_instance=0
  • Save changes and restart Everything 1.5a.
Please note your settings and data files will now be stored without the -1.5 instance suffix.

You can now use the Everything 1.4 SDK with Everything 1.5.
I'm very happy with this change as it allows me to use the Everything toolbar again :D
But in my case it looks like the ini file is still Everything-1.5a.ini and changes are made to it.
Its fine for me and find it better to stay with the -1.5a suffixes to all the files.
w64bit
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:06 am

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by w64bit »

Confirm.
With alpha_instance=0, ini file is still Everything-1.5a.ini
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by void »

Please note your settings and data files will now be stored without the -1.5 instance suffix.

Just to confirm, Everything 1.5a will still use -1.5a suffix in your filenames.

Disabling alpha_instance will only do the following:
  • Disable the 1.5a instance name for the EVERYTHING_MUTEX (prevents another instance with the same name from running)
  • Disable the 1.5a instance name for the tray and search window classes (IPC communication)
Everything 1.5a will always use a 1.5a instance name for the Everything Service and for filenames.

Using a custom instance name will override the 1.5a instance name.
richiek
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:07 am

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by richiek »

That is great!

Thanks again for everything,
Richard.
oO0XX0Oo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:44 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by oO0XX0Oo »

At some point a new version of es.exe will be published that works in conjunction (via IPC) with 1.5 alpha (atm the current one states that IPC is unavailable)?
NotNull
Posts: 5167
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by NotNull »

oO0XX0Oo wrote: Fri Apr 16, 2021 8:46 pm At some point a new version of es.exe will be published that works in conjunction (via IPC) with 1.5 alpha (atm the current one states that IPC is unavailable)?
Everything 1.5 must be running in the background for ES to work.

When you run Everything 1.5 out of the box, it will use a named instance ("1.5a") and you can run one of the following commands to see if it is available to ES:

Code: Select all

ES.exe  -instance 1.5a  -get-everything-version
ES.exe  -instance 1.5a  -get-result-count


When you followed the instructions above and run Everything 1.5 without a named instance, you can use the following commands:

Code: Select all

ES.exe  -get-everything-version
ES.exe  -get-result-count
oO0XX0Oo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:44 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by oO0XX0Oo »

Ah, I see (ofc Everything64.exe was running in the background when I tried to use es.exe)^^

Thanks a lot for the explanation! I've added the .ini option and can now use es.exe without the 1.5a instance name option...
NotNull
Posts: 5167
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: 1.5a SDK files

Post by NotNull »

:thumbsup:

For others reading this, there is another option:

Code: Select all

ES.exe -instance 1.5a -save-settings
That will save instance=1.5a in ES.ini, in the folder where your ES.exe is.
The next time you run ES.exe, it will automatically append -instance 1.5a to your search command.

(and better make a note of that, because that is typically some of those things to forget. I know I will :))

You can reset your ES search options with ES.exe -clear-settings or by deleting ES.ini.
Post Reply