Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
nikov
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 10:31 am

Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by nikov »

Hi,
Starting from Everything version 1.5.0.1270a, Everything preview pane cannot show preview from the Delphi Preview Handler.

Also, native Windows Explorer preview pane can show preview from the Delphi Preview Handler and I guess Everything is supposed to support every previews in its preview pane which Windows Explorer preview pane supports.

I guess this bug was first introduced after preview pane was completely rewritten for Everything 1.5.0.1270a which was mentioned in:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10302
(Can be found from the changes list of Everything 1.5.0.1270a)

Description and installer of Delphi Preview Handler can be found from:
https://github.com/RRUZ/delphi-preview-handler
and
https://github.com/RRUZ/delphi-preview- ... ag/1.5.1.2

Many thanks for your time and consideration.
NotNull
Posts: 5088
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by NotNull »

Just tested: confirmed.

The preview of the code file (ext:c;cpp;php and more) is shown for a split second, before blanking the preview pane.
nikov
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by nikov »

NotNull wrote: Sun Feb 12, 2023 8:45 am Just tested: confirmed.

The preview of the code file (ext:c;cpp;php and more) is shown for a split second, before blanking the preview pane.
@NotNull, Thank you for taking the time to test and confirm it.
Yes, it shows for a split second, before blanking the preview pane.
horst.epp
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by horst.epp »

For me the Delphi preview handler still works fine for the extensions I have configured.
May be you have a settings or Theme problem.
Screenshot - 12.02.2023 , 15_22_07.png
Screenshot - 12.02.2023 , 15_22_07.png (55.22 KiB) Viewed 7031 times
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 22H2 (OS Build 22621.1194)
Everything 1.5.0.1337a (x64)
Everything Toolbar 1.0.2.0
NotNull
Posts: 5088
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by NotNull »

(Moved to the Everything 1.5 forum)

Could be, but It seems more like an Everything issue to me. With the following steps I do get the preview:

- Click on the file in the resultlist
- Wait a second
- Click the same row just outside the filename
- Click on the file in the resultlist

To make this less vague ;) :

Delphi Preview vs Everything.gif
Delphi Preview vs Everything.gif (156.55 KiB) Viewed 7021 times
horst.epp
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by horst.epp »

I see, I had tested only with Alt-P preview hotkey which works.
But clicking on the result list entry produces your error.
So it is a Everything problem.
The same list in Explorer and Total Commander shows the preview just fine
when clicking on the files in the list.
NotNull
Posts: 5088
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by NotNull »

horst.epp wrote: Sun Feb 12, 2023 4:12 pm I see, I had tested only with Alt-P preview hotkey which works.
Nice! That gives another workaround:
- Select a file
- Press ALT +P to disable preview pane
- Press ALT +P to enable preview pane
void
Developer
Posts: 14844
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by void »

Thank you for the bug report nikov,

I too can confirm the issue.

It is caused by Everything reloading the preview for the same file multiple times.

The issue will be fixed in the next alpha update.
void
Developer
Posts: 14844
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1338a fixes an issue with the preview pane reloading an item when the selection doesn't change.
nikov
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by nikov »

Thanks void,
But the problem still persists.

Everything 1.5.0.1338a (x64) (Latest version):
Everything 1.5.0.1338a (x64).gif
Everything 1.5.0.1338a (x64).gif (139.51 KiB) Viewed 6844 times

Everything 1.5.0.1269a (x64) (Last version that worked):
Everything 1.5.0.1269a (x64).gif
Everything 1.5.0.1269a (x64).gif (192.05 KiB) Viewed 6844 times
horst.epp
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by horst.epp »

Same problem using 1338a
Switching Alt-P off / on works so its not a problem of the Delphi preview handler.
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 22H2 (OS Build 22621.1265)
Everything 1.5.0.1338a (x64)
Everything Toolbar 1.0.2.0
void
Developer
Posts: 14844
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by void »

Thank you for the issue report.

I can also confirm the issue still persists.

It caused by releasing the old preview after showing the new preview.

I'm working on a fix.
void
Developer
Posts: 14844
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by void »

There's a lot of issue with this Delphi preview handler.

For one, only one instance can be created.

Creating more than one instance tends to crash Windows Explorer / Everything.



I'm adding a hack to Everything 1.5.0.1339a to only load one instance for this specific preview handler.

I've also added a preview_single_handler_instance ini setting to force a single instance for other preview handlers which may have issues with multiple instances.

This setting is off by default because it will cause horrible flickering when changing the preview.

If you have trouble with multiple instances of a preview handler and wish to enable preview_single_handler_instance:
  • Copy and paste the following into your Everything search box:
    /preview_single_handler_instance=1
  • Press ENTER in your Everything search box.
  • If successful, preview_single_handler_instance=1 is shown in the status bar for a few seconds.


There's still issues with this preview handler if you have a preview showing in Windows Explorer and one in Everything.
(even when you only have one instance of the preview handler in Everything)
nikov
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by nikov »

Thank you void for adding this hack.
I mainly reported this bug to make sure the latest Everything releases are not inferior than the older Everything releases and some Windows features like preview pane.
I think people like Everything so much and thus expects as bugless as possible. :)
This hack fixed the problem. Thank you void for your time and consideration.
horst.epp
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by horst.epp »

Confirmed, 1339a fixes the problem for me.
Btw. I will never have Explorer previews open but in Total Commander
which also uses this Explorer preview handler..
There is no conflict :D
I can browse modules at the same time in Everything and Total Commander
both are working fine clicking around in the list of applicable extensions
while having the preview open.
void
Developer
Posts: 14844
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Preview pane bug first introduced in Everything 1.5.0.1270a?

Post by void »

Thank you for letting me know this version fixes the issue.
and thanks again for the bug report.
Post Reply