Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Biff
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 7:09 am

Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by Biff »

I remove this index, wait some seconds, do nothing and it is added again:
Image

Why is that?
void
Developer
Posts: 14860
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by void »

Automatically include new fixed volumes is enabled.

Please try disabling Automatically include new fixed volumes:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the NTFS tab on the left.
  • Uncheck Automatically include new fixed volumes.
  • Click OK.
-or-

Please try marking this volume as not included:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the NTFS tab on the left.
  • Select this Y: drive.
  • Uncheck Include in database.
  • Click OK.
Biff
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by Biff »

Automatically include new fixed volumes is enabled.
Yes, that is like it should be (for EACH fixed drive). But even when they are offline? Like it was here? I understood you cannot remove online drvies from the NTFS tab, it is not like that? So this means you have to click OK / Apply in the NTFS tab quickly after pressing removing. Before the (offline) drive is added again?
void
Developer
Posts: 14860
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by void »

Yes, that is like it should be (for EACH fixed drive). But even when they are offline?
The "Automatically include new fixed volumes" setting is a global setting.
Not a per drive setting.

If the volume has been removed (either by clicking Remove or if Automatically remove offline volumes is checked) the volume will be seen as "new" when re-inserted.
Biff
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by Biff »

OK, so this is the usual behaviour:
I remove this index, wait some seconds, do nothing and it is added again:
Image

But why can an offline drive be added?
void
Developer
Posts: 14860
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by void »

Thanks for the issue report Biff,

Everything may re-add offline volumes if a volume change is detected.

I have put this on my Things to fix list.

For now, please try removing the offline volume again and clicking OK.
Biff
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by Biff »

OK, thank you very much!
void
Developer
Posts: 14860
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1325a fixes an issue with removed volumes reappearing in the options after a volume change is detected.
Biff
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Offline index after removing automatically added again?

Post by Biff »

Ah, great, thank you very much!
Post Reply