Search Command Suggestions

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Stamimail
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Search Command Suggestions

Post by Stamimail »

1. I think "Search Commands" info-window is missing under Help menu.
2. Consider make the help info-windows in one info-window separated to tabs:
Search Syntax | Search Commands | Regular Expression Syntax | ...

3. Consider make hyperlinks in the info-window, like:

about:exe-location
Open the Everything.exe location.

Click on this will "Open the Everything.exe location" in WIndows Explorer.

about:home
Search with the home search.

Click on this will change Evetyhing search to "Search with the home search".

I guess these hyperlinks means:
Copy/Paste the clicked search command in the Search Edit and press Enter. (Although some of the commands can be done even without changing the Search Edit)
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

Thank you for the good ideas Stamimail,
I think "Search Commands" info-window is missing under Help menu.
I have added "Search Commands" to the Help menu for the next alpha update.

I would consider "Search Commands" an advanced feature which is generally not used every day.
Customizing menus and hiding advanced features is still on my TODO list.
2. Consider make the help info-windows in one info-window separated to tabs:
Search Syntax | Search Commands | Regular Expression Syntax | ...
I will consider doing this, or have hyperlinks at the top of each help page to switch between the different windows.
3. Consider make hyperlinks in the info-window, like:
Rich edit support (with hyperlinks) for help pages is on my TODO list.
I will consider executing search commands from hyperlinks.

Thanks for the suggestions.
tuska
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by tuska »

Menu "Help"
I also have a wish regarding saving the window size.

The window size can be changed/adjusted, but after the next call of one of the following menu items in the "Help" menu
the predefined window size will also be reset, namely
  1. Search Syntax
  2. Regex Syntax
  3. Search Preprocessor
  4. Command Line Options
  5. Search Commands (next alpha update)
If one could save the window size for the next access, e.g. analogous to the "Organise Search History" window,
this would have the advantage that much more information would be available immediately ("at a glance").
menes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:26 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by menes »

Hello,

I just created some bookmarks cause I found these commands pretty handy. The thing is that when I select the appropriate bookmark the action is not executed, I have to press enter. I saved another search as a bookmark and when I selected it the action executed immediately. Is this by design? Am I missing something on the bookmark setting? (though for the life of me I could not figure what this would be)
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

I have added to my TODO list to save the help windows position and size.

Bookmarks currently do not execute search commands.
I will consider doing this.

Thanks for the suggestions.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1262a adds the /expand and /#preprocessor-function: search commands.

Everything 1.5.0.1262a will now execute search commands when loading bookmarks.

Bookmark search command examples:
/quit
/#clipboard:
/#element:<"Red;Green;Blue",;,#randbetween:<1,3>>
/#year:<#now:>-#text:<#month:<#now:>,00>-#text:<#day:<#now:>,00>
/rescan D:
/save-db

Everything 1.5.0.1262a will now remember help windows position and size.

Thanks for the suggestions.
tuska
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by tuska »

void wrote: Fri May 28, 2021 8:04 am Everything 1.5.0.1262a will now remember help windows position and size.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Thanks for the prompt implementation! :)
(If necessary, I also use the "Textify" tool and EmEditor to search the help).
Stamimail
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by Stamimail »

tuska wrote: Fri May 28, 2021 11:22 am (If necessary, I also use the "Textify" tool and EmEditor to search the help).
Adding a SearchBar to Help info-window is an idea.
What kind of Search are you using:
a Filter Bar - like in Everything Search
or
a Find Bar - like Ctrl+F in Web Borwsers
?
(I hope I'm using the terminology correctly)
tuska
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by tuska »

2Stamimail

This is currently my procedure - only for longer help texts - in Everything:
  • I extract with Textify the text from the Everything-Help into the clipboard [Ctrl+right mouse button <- adjustable],
    Tool "Textify" - Summary (english)
  • then I click in Textify on the button I created for EmEditor (command=EmEditor.exe /i)
  • EmEditor opens and the text from the clipboard is pasted
  • For longer Everything help texts I then search in EmEditor (Find Toolbar, Filter Toolbar).
I think if one could simply press CTRL+F in the displayed Everything help and do a search, then that would be an advantage.

EDIT:
Just now I realize that this is not a good idea, because Textify cuts off the text after 4 096 characters -
"Search Preprocessor" has much more text!
RaMMicHaeL says: November 20, 2019 at 9:47 wrote:If you’re talking about the amount of characters Textify can grab, the limit is imposed by the target program, not Textify.
See the discussion here: https://rammichael.com/textify/comment- ... mment-8942
RaMMicHaeL says: November 20, 2019 at 2:49 pm wrote:... It’s up to the target program, Textify is not responsible for the limit and cannot remove it. ...
See also: https://rammichael.com/textify/comment- ... ment-12581 - May 28, 2021 at 1:29 pm
In the future I will mark the help text with CTRL+A, press CTRL+C and then paste it into EmEditor (CTRL+V).
menes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:26 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by menes »

void wrote: Fri May 28, 2021 8:04 am Everything 1.5.0.1262a adds the /expand and /#preprocessor-function: search commands.

Everything 1.5.0.1262a will now execute search commands when loading bookmarks.

Bookmark search command examples:
/quit
/#clipboard:
/#element:<"Red;Green;Blue",;,#randbetween:<1,3>>
/#year:<#now:>-#text:<#month:<#now:>,00>-#text:<#day:<#now:>,00>
/rescan D:
/save-db

Everything 1.5.0.1262a will now remember help windows position and size.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Woa, thanks for the quick implementation! I tested it and it works like a charm!
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by aviasd »

tuska wrote: Fri May 28, 2021 1:13 pm
[*]I extract with Textify the text from the Everything-Help into the clipboard [Ctrl+right mouse button <- adjustable],
Thanks for this tool recommendation! It looks cool 8-)
I think if one could simply press CTRL+F in the displayed Everything help and do a search, then that would be an advantage.
I agree - when I need to search for something in the help - the current dialog is insufficient and I usually resort to Ctrl+A then paste in Gvim - A search functionality is a good idea and a time saver - The help is getting very big with all the new features...
raccoon
Posts: 1008
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Search Commands

Post by raccoon »

void wrote: Fri May 28, 2021 8:04 amEverything 1.5.0.1262a will now execute search commands when loading bookmarks.
This has a strange behavior for the bookmark about:keys where the help window is pushed to the background, beneath Everything.

Feature creep. Could you add /save-now similar to /save-db but performs ALL saving activities (ie, without having to exit the program)? Optionally include redundant saves for things that have not been changed, (allowing me to delete files from the Everything folder for destructive maintenance, so Everything can re-create them).
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

This has a strange behavior for the bookmark about:keys where the help window is pushed to the background, beneath Everything.
Thanks for the bug report.
This will be fixed in the next alpha update.


Feature creep. Could you add /save-now similar to /save-db but performs ALL saving activities (ie, without having to exit the program)?
I have added a /save-all search command for the next update.
This will save all settings and data to disk.
(The same function when shutting down your PC)


Optionally include redundant saves for things that have not been changed.
Everything will only save to disk if a change has been made.
I will consider an option to dirty all settings and data.


(allowing me to delete files from the Everything folder for destructive maintenance, so Everything can re-create them)
This will most likely lead to Everything-data loss if Everything is running.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1283a should now show the about:keys window in the foreground.
Stamimail
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by Stamimail »

A little note about naming:
:? Search Commands
Maybe more appropriate:
SearchBox Commands
SearchBar Commands
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

I will consider naming Search commands Search Bar/Box Commands

Thank you for the suggestions.

Web browsers use the term about: pages.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Commands

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1290a make some changes to running search commands from bookmarks.

Opening bookmarks with a search command will now execute the search command without setting the search.

A new /replace-sel command line option is available to replace the selected text in the search box.
New preprocessor variables #currentsearch: and #cursel: are available to /expand, /replace-sel and /#preprocessor-function:
#currentsearch: is replaced with the current search text.
#cursel: is replaced with the currently selected search text.



Examples:
Toggle grid lines from a bookmark without changing the search:
Bookmark Name: Toggle Grid Lines
Bookmark Search: /grid_lines=!



Make the currently selected search text uppercase:
Bookmark Name: UPPER
Bookmark Search: /replacesel #upper:<#cursel:>



Append text to the search box:
Bookmark Name: Append Today
Bookmark Search: /expand #current-search: dm:today
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1304a adds multi-line support to search commands.

Press Alt + Enter to insert a new line into the search box.
For example:
/date_format=yyyy.MM.dd<Alt + Enter>/time_format=HH:mm:ss.SSS



This might be useful for bookmarks to set multiple settings or execute multiple search commands.
You can also press Alt + Enter in the add/edit bookmark search box.
raccoon
Posts: 1008
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by raccoon »

void wrote: Tue Mar 15, 2022 5:13 am Press Alt + Enter to insert a new line into the search box.
I'm having difficulty getting this to work. Alt+Enter does nothing for the main search box nor the add/edit bookmarks search box.

(I found Alt+Enter being used for File|Properties (Result List) but deleting it doesn't solve anything)
Last edited by raccoon on Tue Mar 15, 2022 5:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by void »

There's no visible character for the new line.

Please try the following:
  • Copy and paste the following into the search box:
    /window_x=0
  • Press Alt + Enter
  • Copy and paste the following into the search box:
    /window_y=0
  • Press Enter
If you see /window_y=0 in the statusbar then it work as expected.
If you only see /window_x=0, then there might be an issue.
Last edited by void on Fri Mar 18, 2022 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: updated alt + enter
raccoon
Posts: 1008
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by raccoon »

Ah, I see. I was expecting the editbox to expand vertically as a multiline editbox. Yes, there is an invisible character inserted as evidenced when walking the caret over it with the arrow keys.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by void »

It would be useful to convert the single-line edit box to a multi-line edit box on Alt + Enter.

I've put this on my TODO list.
harryray2
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by harryray2 »

I've just tried this out..I can't get it to work.

I pasted in /window_x=0<Alt + Enter>/window_y=0 and the result I got was /window_x=0
raccoon
Posts: 1008
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by raccoon »

Did you update to build 1304a?
harryray2
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by harryray2 »

Yes...
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by void »

Please try the following:
  • Copy and paste the following into the search box:
    /window_x=0
  • Press Alt + Enter
  • Copy and paste the following into the search box:
    /window_y=0
  • Press Enter
Both search commands should be executed. (only the last command is shown in the status bar)
NotNull
Posts: 4850
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by NotNull »

Results will vary based on ALT + ENTER keybinding.

'ALT + ENTER' key bindings:
View | Sort By | Date Run (Search Edit)
File | Properties (Result List)

Produces window_x=0 in the statusbar.

/window_y=0 followed by /window_x=0 shows window_y=0


After removing the Search Edit key binding all works as advertised.
harryray2
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by harryray2 »

Possibly I'm missing the point of what this does, but after using alt+enter I can't see any difference.
void
Developer
Posts: 14203
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by void »

There's not much point pressing ALT + Enter in the search box at the moment.

It might be useful for bookmarks to specify multiple search commands.
You can press Alt + Enter in the bookmark search box to insert a new line.

There's no visible character inserted when you press Alt + Enter.
You can skip over the invisible character with the Left and Right arrow keys.
harryray2
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Search Command Suggestions

Post by harryray2 »

Thanks, must admit, I can't grasp this...I think I'll leave it at the moment.
Post Reply