Question regarding Everything in Listary

Plug-in and third party software discussion.
Post Reply
kazzybash
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:55 pm

Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by kazzybash » Sat Mar 12, 2022 9:31 am

hi,

first of all I want to apologize for asking the following question here, but the Listary dev (sadly enough) apparently has stopped working on his great piece of software a long time ago. I am using Listary pro 5. There used to be a possibility to have Listary use Everything's database in the past. I cannot find this possibility any longer.

Is anyone here using Listary pro 5 and knowing how to make Listary use Everything's database? I am using the last version of Everything64 1.5 alpha (but on OS level totally renamed to Everything).

Thanks in advance, kind regards, Kazzy

NotNull
Posts: 3660
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by NotNull » Sat Mar 12, 2022 12:23 pm

kazzybash wrote:
Sat Mar 12, 2022 9:31 am
There used to be a possibility to have Listary use Everything's database in the past.
Are you sure about that?
Listary has it's own file-indexing tool running (and that uses similar mechanisms to Everything).

horst.epp
Posts: 727
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by horst.epp » Sat Mar 12, 2022 2:37 pm

Listary builds its own database with its service.
There is no realationship to Everything at all.
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.556)
Everything 1.5.0.1303a (x64)
Listary Pro 6.0.5.16

kazzybash
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:55 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by kazzybash » Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:00 am

hi guys,

indeed, Everything uses it's own database (which has a speed comparable to Everything). Apart from that I am one hundred percent sure that there used to be a tickbox in which one could indicate to use either the native database or the Everything database.

Anyhow, this option is no longer available apparently. I can't find it and it does not ring a bell with both of you, so it's probably been dropped.

Thanks a lot to both of you for responding to my question. Regards, Kazzy

NotNull
Posts: 3660
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by NotNull » Mon Apr 11, 2022 5:42 pm

FWIW: Long time ago (2013), there used to be Everything support in Listary:
So you were right!

#####Change log
######v1103

- New: Everything support is back as it’s alive again
Link: https://discussion.listary.com/t/a-new- ... ack/147/15)

(Came up in my search results, searching for something entirely unrelated. Help!, I'm in a bubble! ;))

horst.epp
Posts: 727
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by horst.epp » Mon Apr 11, 2022 6:01 pm

NotNull wrote:
Mon Apr 11, 2022 5:42 pm
FWIW: Long time ago (2013), there used to be Everything support in Listary:
So you were right!
That was in version 4 of Listary which is no longer relevant since many years.
Current version is 5.x and the beta is at version 6.
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.593)
Everything 1.5.0.1309a (x64)
Listary Pro 6.0.5.16

NotNull
Posts: 3660
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Question regarding Everything in Listary

Post by NotNull » Mon Apr 11, 2022 6:23 pm

FWIW, it was a response to
Apart from that I am one hundred percent sure that there used to be a tickbox in which one could indicate to use either the native database or the Everything database.
And you are right too: no longer in the "current" version

Post Reply