Everything loses database?

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Thu Oct 22, 2009 7:38 pm

I have an odd problem with Everything-1.2.1.426a running on Win7 64 bit.

Ever once in a while it will suddenly lose almost all of it's database, or at least access to it. It still shows me a few items, usually the contents of the recycle bin and the root of the drive. I don't know what triggers this, but I haven't figured out how to restore it other than uninstalling it and then installing it fresh. It'll then work for a week or two normally, and suddenly I'll go to do a search and all the indexes are gone again!

Anyone else seeing anything like this?

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:43 pm

Bump?

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by David » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:20 pm

Does deleting the Everything.db file fix the problem?
How many volumes do you have? does this only happen on one of the volumes?
Are the files compressed or encrypted?

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:29 pm

David wrote:Does deleting the Everything.db file fix the problem?
How many volumes do you have? does this only happen on one of the volumes?
Are the files compressed or encrypted?
I didn't try deleting the database, truthfully I didn't think of that.

What fixed it is when I totally uninstalled it and started fresh. It happened on all the volumes in the database. The files are not compressed or encrypted.

Next time it happens, I'll try deleting the database and restarting it.

therube
Posts: 2352
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by therube » Mon Oct 26, 2009 3:31 pm

There was a time a while back, I was jumping between versions.
Perhaps it was between .371 release & some of the later alphas?

Switching back & forth, I noticed what looked like the .db being recreated.
I just attributed that to a structure change in the .db itself.

---

More recently, with the alphas, I have seen ... not sure ... perhaps a search that should have returned results, did not? This may have been after switching (XP) Users, or after awakening from sleep (mode) &/or reopening Everything from the system tray.? But then another query would return expected results.

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:18 pm

I'm running Win7 Ultimate 64 bit, and I have the latest alpha. This happened on the previous alpha version.

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:11 am

OK, here's the failure. here are two screen shots, one when I right click on C: in My Computer, the second when I clear the search line completely.

Note the one when I right click on the C: drive in My Computer, that's all I get. If I clear the search argument, it finds everything in the database on all drives.

Stopping Everything and deleting the database does not solve it. After restarting Everything, the database gets rebuilt and it's exactly the same size, and operation proceeds the same way.

Does anyone know what's going on here?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by David » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:08 am

Match whole word is enabled.

Any non-alpha-numeric letter (a-z, A-Z, 0-9 and _) will terminate a word.

C:\ will match C:\$ because the $ terminates the whole word.

C:\ will not match C:\WINDOWS because the W after C:\ does not terminate the whole word.

This is the intended behavior.

Double quoting a search term in the next release will disable match whole word which will fix this problem.

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:25 pm

I just discovered that option trolling through the options list, I was coming here to post that bit of information.

My question is, why does that get randomly set? I'm 100% certain that I've never gone into the options and set the option, and clearly it wasn't set when it was working as I expected, it just suddenly changes behavior. What is randomly changing options?

David
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:42 am

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by David » Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:45 pm

Maybe you accidentally hit one of the shortcut keys Ctrl + W or Alt S, W?

gunrunnerjohn
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Re: Everything loses database?

Post by gunrunnerjohn » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:17 am

Any way to disable those keys? I use Ctrl-W to close browser tabs, so that's quite possible, it's programmed on my mouse. I didn't even realize there were shortcut keys! :lol:

I'm glad to find out what was causing it, it was driving me nuts.



Never mind, I found all the keys under options, so I'll kill off that one so it doesn't bite me again. :)

Post Reply