Blank Search results display

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
JASONNESQUIK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:25 pm

Blank Search results display

Post by JASONNESQUIK » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:32 pm

I have used Everything for a while now, but this past week, I suddenly am only seeing a blank screen when I search. The search does seem to be taking place, as the folder location is updated as I tab through invisible results.
Search Screen Cap.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

JASONNESQUIK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:25 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by JASONNESQUIK » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:34 pm

Also of note. After experiencing this problem, I re-download and re-installed the program, but the problem remains.

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:22 pm

That's weird ..
I can't think of any Everything setting that would cause this issue. Even white-on-white text (a font setting) would still leave the icons visible...

First guess: a missing or corrupt runtime library. (re)Install Visual C++ Redistributable.
Second (wild) guess: downgrade (or upgrade) the driver of your video card and reboot your system.

If you uninstall Everything, also remove Everything.ini. That has to be done manually: navigate to %APPDATA%\Everything and delete Everything.ini.
When you re-install, choose Install Everything service for NTFS indexing.

therube
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by therube » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:49 pm

I'd look on the video end.

Maybe restart your computer into Safe Mode.

Are you overclocking (CPU or video)?
Do you have multiple video; onboard & a separate card? Try the other.
Using multiple monitors?

Search everything.ini for "video" & "graphics".

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:58 pm

therube wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:49 pm
Search everything.ini for "video" & "graphics".
Both are not in a "normal" Everything.ini

Another thought:
Did you recently install some shell extensions that add entries in the file/folder context menu?

If you reinstall Everything, use the 64-bit version.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4968
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by void » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:17 am

Could be corrupt column header widths.

Please try the following:
  • Open your Everything.ini:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    about:config
    This will launch your Everything.ini in notepad.
  • Completely exit Everything. (Right click the Everything tray icon and click Exit)
  • Go back to your Everything.ini in notepad.
  • Delete the following lines:

    Code: Select all

    name_column_pos=0
    name_column_width=483
    path_column_visible=1
    path_column_pos=1
    path_column_width=293
    size_column_visible=1
    size_column_pos=2
    size_column_width=82
    extension_column_visible=0
    extension_column_pos=2
    extension_column_width=96
    type_column_visible=0
    type_column_pos=2
    type_column_width=156
    last_write_time_column_visible=1
    last_write_time_column_pos=3
    last_write_time_column_width=129
    creation_time_column_visible=1
    creation_time_column_pos=4
    creation_time_column_width=153
    date_accessed_column_visible=0
    date_accessed_column_pos=1
    date_accessed_column_width=223
    attribute_column_visible=0
    attribute_column_pos=4
    attribute_column_width=70
    date_recently_changed_column_visible=0
    date_recently_changed_column_pos=4
    date_recently_changed_column_width=153
    run_count_column_visible=0
    run_count_column_pos=4
    run_count_column_width=96
    date_run_column_visible=0
    date_run_column_pos=11
    date_run_column_width=153
    file_list_filename_column_visible=0
    file_list_filename_column_pos=4
    file_list_filename_column_width=96
    
    Note: the values after the = might be different for you.
  • Save changes and restart Everything.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4968
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by void » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:27 am

Looks like this is the preview pane.

Please slide the preview pane divider to the right:


To hide the preview pane:
  • In Everything, from the View menu, uncheck Preview.

therube
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by therube » Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:04 am

(Good call, I'm thinking :-).)

hero1321
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by hero1321 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:14 pm

Having similar issue today. Installed Search Everything 1.4.1.935 on new Win 10 64-bit PC (v10.0.18362) two days ago and it worked fine.

Today when I enter a search term, the results list is blank and it says "0 objects" at the bottom. And I know the search time should be found but no evidence it even tried to search.

The Everything service is running in services.msc. I reinstalled the app from the setup file but no help there.

I noticed in services.msc the path to executable is "C:\Program Files\Everything\Everything.exe" -svc
Should that -svc be there?

Don't know what I could have done to make it stop working, and there's no "slider" visible so that's not the fix. A Microsoft update when I wasn't looking?

therube
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by therube » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:37 pm

All searches or only a particular.
If the latter, your issue is different, you have a setting (filter) set that is causing your search not to turn up.


-svc is fine & expected.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4968
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by void » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:28 am

Please make sure Everything is installed correctly:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the General tab on the left.
  • Check Store settings and data in %APPDATA%\Everything.
  • Check Everything service (Please make sure this is tick-checked and not square checked).
  • Uncheck Run as administrator.
  • Click OK.
  • Exit Everything (right click the Everything tray icon and click Exit).
  • Restart Everything.
Please make sure your NTFS volumes are included in your index:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the NTFS tab on the left.
  • Select your C: drive
  • Check Include in database.
  • Click OK.
Please try forcing a rebuild:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Indexes tab on the left.
  • Click Force Rebuild.
  • Click OK.

hero1321
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by hero1321 » Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:32 pm

I uninstalled Everything, reinstalled and set it up the way you indicated in Win 10 Pro, but it still didn't work.

So I changed it to Run as administrator, and now it works.

Why does it work now but didn't work before that box was checked (not that I understand the differences between those settings)?

Thanks

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:41 pm

hero1321 wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:32 pm
Why does it work now but didn't work before that box was checked (not that I understand the differences between those settings)?
If you enabled Store settings and data in %APPDATA%\Everything, running as administrator will create a completely new Everything.ini in the userprofile of Administrator.

This means that you probably can make it work when running as a regular user too:
  • In File Explorer, naviate to %APPDATA%\Everything.
  • Delete Everything.ini from that folder
  • In Everything, enable Everything Service
  • In Everything, disable Run as administrator
  • Click OK
  • Exit Everything: Menu:File > Exit
  • Start Everything
  • Done.
    (if my theory is correct :))

froggie
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by froggie » Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:23 pm

If you enabled Store settings and data in %APPDATA%\Everything, running as administrator will create a completely new Everything.ini in the userprofile of Administrator.
That does not seem to be correct. Running as administrator should elevate process privilege to administrator, not change the location of user profile to "administrator."
I ran a test - no now everything.ini was created.

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:45 pm

You have to exit Everything completely first (Everything is "in between states" otherwise.
This is what happened on my system:
2019-11-18 23_42_40-Command Prompt.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

froggie
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by froggie » Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:06 am

It is Interesting. It is really not proper for a process to write in another user's (admin) files.

I did exit everything completely and made sure the service was stopped.
I repeated the process, deleting everything.ini in appdata\roaming.
Everything recreated everything.ini in my user's appdata\roaming. Not in admin.

I suspect in is either my WIndows 7 or having app_data=1 set in the everything.ini in the everything,exe directory.

therube
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by therube » Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:16 pm

If you "Run as administrator" then you are no longer you (froggie), but instead, Administrator (basically).

It is not, & I wish that it were, that you, froggie, are being elevated to an Admin level, rather you are running Admin.

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:00 pm

I have a theory why we (@froggie and I) are seeing different behaviour.
Short version: froggie's account is an administrator and my account is a regular user (no special privileges).


Long version:
When you log in, you identify yourself by using your username and password. As a 'reward', you get a token. That token works more or less like a badge to access office buildings (access to the third floor, but not the server room, for example).
That badge lists all your rights and is valid as long as you have it (= as long as you are logged in).

Now, if you are a normal (restricted) user, and you choose Run as administrator, you will log in with a separate administrator account. You have to provide a password for that account.
From that moment on you - or more precise: the administrator account - get an extra "all access" badge that will be used for the program that you started this way (and for all the programs that you start from that program the all access badge will be used too ). Program is run under the admin account.


If you are already an administrator and you log in, UAC creates 2 badges. One with "all access" rights and one with some rights removed. This is the badge that is handed to you when logging in.
Now, when you - as an administrator - need to do something where you need the "all access" badge, you also choose Run as administrator.
UAC knows you are an administrator and will give you the other badge to start the specific program. No need to provide a password in this case.

Point (finally ;)) is that it is the SAME useraccount when the user is an administrator (but a different badge) and a differrent useraccount when the user is a "normal" user.
I suspect the froggie account is an administrator on his system...

Notes:
UAC was introduced because developers had bad/lazy programming habits that forced users to run their program as administrator. Otherwise these programs wouldn't work correctly. UAC made them streamline their code.
(and I have to say: it worked! Nearly all programs can now be run as a restricted user)
UAC is not a security measure; there are dozens of methods to bypass it.
(that's why I always log in as a restricted user)
Last edited by NotNull on Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

froggie
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by froggie » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:12 pm

That is exactly right (and well described). I tested it to refresh my memory. Note that when an account with administrator rights chooses "run as an administrator" windows puts up a prompt for permission before handing out the admin badge - it is not hidden (unless UAC has been turned off), so most of the time programs are run with regular permissions and you know when one is asking to go beyond that.

Going back to the original poster, there was no mention of signing in again as an admin or information about privilege of the userid, which would be useful to know to see if that is the reason "run as an admin" fixed his problem or if it was something else.

NotNull
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Blank Search results display

Post by NotNull » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:54 pm

froggie wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:12 pm
unless UAC has been turned off
Note that there is a fundamental difference between Win7 and Win10 in this regard:
  • If you disable UAC on Win7, you always get the "all access badge", right from when you log in.
  • If you disable UAC on Win10, you NEVER get the "all access badge".

To get back on topic (good point, @froggie :)):
Hopefully we will heear back from @hero1321 ...

Post Reply