Filter plugin with shortcut keys

Plug-in and third party software discussion.
burgundy
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:50 am

Filter plugin with shortcut keys

Postby burgundy » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:24 pm

I'm getting my new version 1.4 to look like my old version 1.3.

(1) Where can I find that plugin I once had which assigned hotkeys to the Search menu dropdown for filter types?

(2) Do I need a plugin to have a filter dropdown box the the right of the search bar?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3121
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Filter plugin with shortcut keys

Postby void » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:08 am

Settings in Everything 1.3 should be preserved when installing Everything 1.4.

Settings are stored in %APPDATA%\Everything, except when you have disabled "Store settings and data in %APPDATA%\Everything", then settings are stored in the same location as your Everything.exe.

Uninstalling any version of Everything will delete these settings.

(1) Where can I find that plugin I once had which assigned hotkeys to the Search menu dropdown for filter types?


Keyboard shortcuts for filters are built-in to Everything.
If you have your old Filters.csv you can copy that to your new installation, just make sure Everything 1.4 is not running before doing so.

To setup new filter keyboard shortcuts:
  • In Everything, from the Search menu, click Organize Filters....
  • Select a filter and click Edit....
  • Press a new keyboard shortcut in keyboard shortcut.
  • Click OK.
  • Click OK.

(2) Do I need a plugin to have a filter dropdown box the the right of the search bar?


The filter bar is built-in to Everything.
To show the filter bar:
  • In Everything, from the View menu, click Filters.

To move the filter bar to the right of Everything:
  • Click and drag the divider between the filter bar and the search box all the way to the left.

Stamimail
Posts: 239
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Filter plugin with shortcut keys

Postby Stamimail » Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:18 pm

burgundy wrote:(1) Where can I find that plugin I once had which assigned hotkeys to the Search menu dropdown for filter types??
This one?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4239


Return to “Development, plugins and third party software”